And Then, There Was VentureBeat

Hours ago, I let y’all know I had put in my last day at Mashable.

Not being one to waste time, I am now embarking on my first day of work at VentureBeat.

It’s a smaller publication, but as partially noted in my post on leaving the Mash, I have for some time wanted to work somewhere with a niche-y focus on technology and business — particularly early-stage startups. And as Mashable pursues a more mainstream (and for them, a worthwhile and highly profitable) path, I am content to focus on what I do best: Talking to developers, designers, investors, analysts, and others about what makes the Silicon Valley microverse tick, and retelling that story to a wide-ranging audience of early adopters, tech generalists, and businessfolk around the world.

I’m thrilled to be working with some of the finest reporters in San Francisco, and I am looking forward to the new challenges and new victories of this new job.

I hope you’ll continue to follow my writings, which will center around tech news and startup reviews. I’ll need your support to continue doing what I do best, and I promise to keep it interesting for you! Stay tuned for a string of think pieces, iconoclastic interviews, unique analyses, and generally the kind of journalism I write when I’m at the top of my game.

And to my longtime friends who’ve been reading my stuff and supporting me since my days at ReadWriteWeb (and even before!), you have my hearty thanks and sincere love. Without your attention and feedback, I’d be nowhere.


Main photo by the amazing Ken Yeung.

54 thoughts on “And Then, There Was VentureBeat

  1. Congrats on the new gig. Reading this and the previous post I find myself nodding my head in agreement at your decision. Good luck, and maybe we’ll cross paths again when I’m eventually back state-side!🙂

  2. Kudos on joining VentureBeat Jolie! It’s great to see you pursuing what you’re not only passionate about, but also what you clearly have a knack for.

    When can we expect a full recap of your first day?

  3. That was quick–congrats. I think i have a good story for you. A 100 yr old education company based in the print world reinvents itself with technology. Contact me if you’re interested.

  4. Good luck Jolie, I’m sure by now you have your community. You are an enormous addition to any blog (one day maybe we we will have the honor🙂 ).
    Keep up writing top A articles, and I’m not being too sticky I hope🙂

  5. Congrats, Jolie! It’s nice to know that you are following your interests. I like your new niche and I’m sure you will be successful. Buena suerte!

  6. Congratulations! Totally stoked I’ll get you to read your writing every week in my feeds again… I wasn’t able to follow you when you were at Mashable because Mashable is unmanagable via rss feeds. Page view agendas over relevance agendas tend to self-destruct my interest level like that… And I’ll never forget Marshall promising that he’ll pray for the success of Mashable in the comments of your previous post! Some days I’ll just never forget! Thank you for being you!

    Be well, Deane

  7. Congrats Jolie! All the best for this new exciting adventure! Each experience comes with surprises and learnings, achievements and pride!

    Cheers!

  8. can i ask you a serious and not-intended-to-be-insulting question?

    do you have a personal estimate of the % of male readership that follows you more because you’re hot than because you’re an excellent journalist?

    i’m honestly curious of your opinion on the issue.

    cheers!

    • Oh, they’re definitely out there.

      Over the past couple years, I’ve been posing for and posting fewer photos of myself precisely to stop that kind of “readership.” I’ve changed the way I dress, the language I use — a lot of the things I used to take for granted — to avoid being typecast in people’s thoughts as a “hot geek girl,” which is really not what I am at all.

      Ultimately, I want to make it very difficult for anyone to follow me and not think about these important questions: Are we (technologists) doing the right thing with our gifts? Are we treating women and ALL ethnic minorities fairly? Are we making positive contributions to global quality of life?

Comment

