My Halloween Playlist: All Killer, No Filler

I hate “Monster Mash.” And “Feed My Frankenstein” and “Thriller” are great, but so overdone.

I love good music, and I’ve recently discovered that I love Halloween, too. However, if you asked me a few weeks ago, I would have been hard pressed to come up with a list of “Halloween music,” let alone good Halloween music.

Since I’m getting into the Halloween spirit more than usual this year, ordering a costume and decorating the front porch, I decided I needed to fix this problem once and for all. Here’s my kick-awesome, rock-flavored Halloween playlist, featuring The Kinks, Nirvana, The White Stripes, Led Zeppelin, and a bunch of other awesome bands we don’t typically associate with the holiday genre. And of course, there’s a smattering of horror flick-inspired music from the likes of Rob Zombie and The Misfits. And yeah, some good old stage “Satanism” from Black Sabbath and Iron Maiden.

All in all, this playlist is perfect for the grownup who still loves candy, scary movies, playing dress-up, and all the fun jazz surrounding Halloween but who doesn’t want to suffer through the Scooby Doo theme song while engaging in the aforementioned activities.

What awesome songs did I miss?

Black Sabbath }{ Black Sabbath
Rob Zombie }{ Dragula
Wolfmother }{ Witchcraft
The Misfits }{ Hallowen
The Cramps }{ Teenage Werewolf
The Kinks }{ Wicked Annabella
Siouxsie & the Banshees }{ Halloween
Nick Cave }{ Red Right Hand
Nirvana }{ Lake of Fire
New York Dolls }{ Frankenstein
Led Zeppelin }{ Gallows Pole
White Stripes }{ Walking With a Ghost
Iron Maiden }{ Fear of the Dark
Rasputina }{ Transylvanian Concubine
The Misfits }{ Dig Up Her Bones
Dead Kennedys }{ Halloween

If you like it and want to listen to all these songs free of charge, check out my “I Remember Halloween” YouTube playlist.

And of course, what would a playlist be without some awesome album art? I’m particularly fond of this one:

Whatcha think?

13 thoughts on “My Halloween Playlist: All Killer, No Filler

  1. Marilyn Manson…Long road out of hell
    Marilyn Manson…This is halloween
    (Or any of the covers from Nightmare b4 xmas)
    NIN…Dead Souls
    Cure…Burn
    Nick Cave…Black Crow King
    King of Woolworths…To the devil a donut
    The Killers…Shadowplay
    Thrill Kill Kult…Swine and Roses

    and because it needs to be mentioned
    Tentacles…from the Lovecraft inspired musical “Shoggoth on the Roof”

  2. fear of the dark is a wicked tune for halloween! what about “bloodletting” by concrete blonde? or if you wanna dance …. “dark & long” by underworld.

    peace,
    sg

Comment

