Stallman on Being a Hacker

Here’s the fifth video in my series of Richard Stallman interview clips. [tweetmeme source=”jolieodell” only_single=false]

I tried in vain to think of a good excuse for putting this on Mashable, but there’s really no angle for it. “Legendary Hacker Relives MIT Glory Days”… Yeah, I don’t think that would go over so well on Mash.

Still, this clip is full of things I had longed to ask Stallman. I mean, I got to sit in a room with the guy for a half hour and just talk… mostly, just listen. What could I possibly say that would be of interest to someone with his intellect, right?

So after talking about free software, SaaS, Google, Apple, and a handful of other topics, I asked him how he came to be a computer hacker and what some of his all-time favorite hacks were. His answers were just wonderful.

Hope you enjoy the video, friends. It’s a bit wonky, timing-wise, but I blame .ogg for that. And of course, you’re free to download and redistribute the video; here is is on Wikimedia.

22 thoughts on “Stallman on Being a Hacker

  1. Thanks for these interviews. This guy is awesome!

    I wish more people would listen to him with respect to cloud computing. Unfortunately, there are too many people pushing the pros while trivializing the cons. Like Jeff Goldblum’s quote in Jurassic Park, “Yeah, but your scientists were so preoccupied with whether or not they could, they didn’t stop to think if they should.”

    All good hackers have a mischievous nature. It’s too bad it leads some down the path of the dark side.

    Cheers

  2. Love the clip! I remember first seeing Stallman interviewed in the documentary “RevolutionOS”. I must have watched it at least a dozen times. I don’t agree with all of his ideas, but I have a strong affinity for open source software, and his passion and zeal and sincerity are really inspiring. I also read his book “Free as in Freedom” which is quite good.

  3. I have a lot of Respect for Mr. Stallman – He was already writing code like a madman when I was just learning BASIC on a Timex Sinclair with 2k of memory.

    –Jason

Comment

