In Which I Leave ReadWriteWeb

500+ blog posts, 5,000+ comments, and almost 365 caffeine-fueled nights of insomnia later, I’m afraid I must announce my departure from ReadWriteWeb.

Blogging for ReadWriteWeb was my dream job, and I’m unimaginably sad that I have to leave. I’ve learned so much and have been so honored to work with bloggers like Richard MacManus, Marshall Kirkpatrick, and the rest of the RWW team – honestly, I’ll feel like something of an amputee for a while, I think. But time to move on it is, and move on I must.

Lots of folks will want to know why I’m leaving the company I love, but to be honest, there’s nothing complicated, shocking, or sordid about it. Be that as it may, the details are between RWW and me. I will say that I leave with nothing but admiration for my former coworkers in my heart.

And people will also want to know what I’m doing next. I count myself in that group, actually.

One of the projects I’m working on now is an event that will showcase early-stage companies that use technology for the greater good. I hope to have more information live at Goodte.ch shortly after I return to the Bay from SXSW, so stay tuned! If you’d like to be involved, please email me. I’m looking for good startups, startup- and philanthropy-focused sponsors, and others who’d like to give back to the greater human community, as well.

I’m also going to use this time to work on my (currently negligible) Python skills, get on a normal sleep schedule, and settle into my and Eston’s new digs in Burlingame.

Since this departure is rather unexpected and sudden, I haven’t quite decided where I’m going next. I’m living in Silicon Valley now, which makes doing product work at a startup an even more exciting idea. I have a list of six web apps I think have killer attributes – things involving self-reference, multimedia content, microcontent, and game mechanics. I’d love to work on a product with those elements in particular.

Of course, I freakin’ love tech blogging and will continue to do so; if it turns out that I don’t work for another tech blog, then I’ll be posting here and/or on a company blog somewhere. And I’ve absolutely adored all the things I’ve been doing to engage communities lately, from working on events to speaking to fostering conversations online.

If you want to get in touch about work opportunities, shoot me an email. I’ll be back in the San Francisco area and available to take meetings starting Monday, March 22. If you want to see my CV or know more about my qualifications, Google “Jolie O’Dell” or connect with me on LinkedIn.

I will be so sad to click the “Publish” button on this post. The only thing that will ease that pain is the excitement of what’s to come next.

63 thoughts on “In Which I Leave ReadWriteWeb

  1. :(. Oh jolie, this is sad. It’s been wonderful getting to know you and I hope you’ll stay in close touch throughout further adventures. You are a good egg Jolie O’Dell!!

    • Marshall, I am so sad, as well! I’ll miss chatting with you every day. You are and remain one of my blogging heroes!

      Sending big hugs, I’m sure we’ll see one another soon.

  2. It’s sad to know you’ll not be at RWW anymore, but I love your style of writing and the subjects you care about.So I guess I’ll just wait for your future posts. Goodte.ch sounds like a nice idea and I’m looking forward to hearing more about it. Technology for the greater good has lot’s of applications specially in helping get more information to producers (of food, products or services) in areas were they’re abused by their lack of information.

    You’ll rock anything you happen to start doing. Have lot’s of fun in your future projects!

  3. Oh wow, that’s quite some news! You will be sorely missed by all of us who love RWW, and I am sure even more missed by the RWW team.

    Let me know if there’s anything I can help with!

    xoxo

    @themaria

  4. I look forward to hearing about your next adventure. It was so nice to meet you in person at SXSW this year.

    I have recommendations for you on social cause companies so I’ll be in touch on both sides of the house!

    xo
    zane

  5. Wow – very sad to see you go Jolie!

    It was great working with you and I wish you all the best with your new ventures (which will surely be awesome!).

  6. Hey, best of luck with the next chapter, Jolie. I’m sure you’ll be missed by colleagues and readers alike.

    If you think writing about startups is fun, wait till you get involved in one ;-)

  7. Jolie,

    sorry to hear this news!

    Re the conference do get in touch when you are back in the Bay Area I have a bunch of folks to introduce you to who might be potential sponsors, speakers or partners for the event (a whole network of social venture tech firms and funds in fact)

    also happy to chat app ideas, I have a bunch of my own. Just started a consulting gig but it isn’t full time.

    Shannon

  8. *not like*! So sorry to see you leave what you loved so dearly, Jolie. You were one of my favorite writers at RWW, and you truly had passion for what you did. You’re talented enough I’m sure you’ll find something that works really well for you in the near future. Please let me know if I can help in any way!

  9. Very saddened to read this, you are a great, and controversial writer at times that I will miss greatly.

    Shoot me an e-mail if you need help with anything, though I am not quite sure how much I can help with lol.

    Good luck, Jolie :D

  10. Well, at least now you can get some sleep!
    I wish nothing bu the very best for you in your future endeavors, and speak of which, with your knew project and all, who knows, maybe we should talk…

    *hugs*
    ~Antonio

  11. Jolie! Sorry you’re splitting RWW, but I know that the “tubes” shall not be rid of your awesomeness.

    I look forward to finding out what you’re up to next. You rule roadtwipper.

    Keep on rocking in the free world,
    Dave

  12. Sorry to hear this Jolie. Here is a quote I read yesterday that I really like – atleast it has been very true for me.

    “There will come a time when you believe everything is finished…That will be the beginning.” – Louis L’Amour

    No doubt we will hear about your next adventure soon!

    • Hey E.

      Was nice working with you – I learned a lot, and I wish you the best, as well.

      Although things are finished at RWW, I see that entire experience as a springboard. I don’t think I’d be anywhere near where I am now if Richard hadn’t brought me on board.

  13. Wow, I really hope this isn’t because of the SXSW post you made. I thought it was dead on and most importantly it sparked conversation (support, outrage, etc). What better outcome is there for a journalist or blogger?

    Frankly, you’re the only RRW blogger that I have on my RSS reader and I’ll be disappointed to remove you.

    • Not at all! I decided to leave RWW right around the time I got to SXSW for entirely different reasons. That post was more a *result* of my bad mood at having to quit rather than a catalyst in that decision.

  14. this is a sad day Jolie, we will miss ur posts at RWW,you have done a great job. I hope you find success in all your career aspirations.

    And i respect the way you respected your last employers ..high ethics :)

  15. Jolie! You were definitely one of my favorite writers over at RWW, and I loved those open threads of yours. This sphere needs more content like that — people need to ask the hard questions and bring up those untouched subjects.

    I look forward to seeing what you do next! I’ll be shooting you an email.

    Hugs,
    @kristin

  16. I think the biggest news here is that you are moving to SF?!?! You are east coast i thought :)

    Best of luck to you in the future. I am disappointed I didn’t get a chance to see you at SXSW.

    • Hi Allen!

      Sorry we didn’t get to meet up this year! That place was straight up mobbed this time – I barely got to see anyone I knew.

      And yes, the relocation is complete! I was in Virginia off & on for much of 2009, but 2010 has been spent entirely in SF with the new bf. We’re also moving from the Financial District downtown out into the suburbs – it’s so pretty out there!

      Can’t wait for what comes next, honestly. I think I made this move at the exact right time.

  17. Oh this is sad news! I know we were almost never in the same time zone, so didn’t get to chat too much, but you were doing a great job at RWW, both blogging and in the community. You will be missed!

    • Sarah, you’re absolutely amazing! I was privileged to work on the same blog with you. =)

      Good luck with everything you’ve got going on, as well. I know I’ll be reading more awesome posts from you in the future.

  18. I wish you good luck and tons of energy in your future deeds – I am sure there will be something tremendously interesting around you shortly and will be glad to read it here.

    I will be missing your open polls from RWW and generally your easy writing, hopefully I will be enjoying them here in a greater volume from now on :)

  19. People are sad as if you’re not connected daily to all of us through several (hundred) channels.

    I for one can’t wait to see what you have in store for us next!

    When you make it to NYC, drinks and @rshotel bacon on me.

  20. Jolie,
    It’s sad to hear that two sources of great content are parting ways. I love the content of RWW and I love your posts as well. If you write for another group in the future, I expect that group will already be a source of great content or will become so by the addition of you. Good Luck.

  21. Wow. Best of luck, I’m looking forward to seeing your future projects.

    For what it’s worth, I’ve been struggling with the decision about leaving my job (also to work on my less-than-epic Python skills) and you’ve just inspired me.

  22. What bitter sweet news! I love reading your posts on RWW, and as a girl in the tech world (/journo), I really look up to you. But that’s where the sweet comes in – I’m sure you’ll be on to new and exciting things.

    Do what you do.

  23. Gee if this guy’s going offline upsets you so much …. all you fvckers need to get a real life.

    May I suggest living in a village in Zimbabwe and digging a well to supply water for that community.

    Fvcking American Dickheads !!!!

  24. Hey, Jolie,
    I was heading off today to retweet your comment about grammar in social media, and noticed your profile: “I’m a straight shooter with upper management written all over me.”

    Made me smile. Thanks.

    Then I tapped in to the sad-to-hear news about you leaving RWW (I somehow had missed that!) You made a huge difference to that site while you were there. Best of luck on your upcoming endeavors.

    Regards,
    Peter

Comment

